Edward Cowie · Gesangbuch – Choral Works

Release: 2013, Signum Classics

BBC Singers, Endymion, Simon Joly, Stephen Cleobury, Stephen Preston


Gesangbuch - Choral Works by Edward Cowie

Lyre Bird Motet (Excerpt)

Gesangbuch 1, Herbstlich - Eaves Wood (Excerpt)

Edward Cowie introduces BBC Singers performing Bell Bird Motet

Edward Cowie’s Gesangbuch, Bell Bird Motet and Lyre Bird Motet are collected on this release. The composer’s unique compositional voice stems from his wide-ranging interdisciplinary interests in both the sonic and visual arts, with many of his works inspired by ideas and concepts from artworks and from the natural world. The opening piece of this recording a 2011 commission for BBC Radio 3 creates a complex musical tapestry and soundscape from the call of the Australian bell-bird, opening with translations of choruses of several species of Australian frogs.

In 2002 Cowie become the BBC Singers’ first ‘Composer-in-Association’, marking a relationship between the composer that began in the mid-1970s and continues to this day.

  1. Bell Bird Motet
  2. The Soft Complaining Flute
  3. Herbstlich – Eaves Wood
  4. Winterlied – Martinmere
  5. Habichtswald – Spring
  6. Stimmungsbild – Hest Bank
  7. Lyre Bird Motet